Editorial

As the new year begins, a new editorial team takes over the duties of running these TRANSACTIONS. Vijay Narayanan and I will reprise, with renewed vigor, our prior roles as DEiC and EiC, respectively, with Sara Dailey staying on as Corresponding Editor.

I am pleased to report a modicum of success over our 2010–2011 term; in measurable terms, submissions to TCAD have gone up by about 22% during this period, and our average review cycle has become significantly faster, down to about 60 days, while maintaining the stringent quality standards that TCAD is known for. Qualitatively, our regular papers, special sections, and keynote papers have been well received and have attracted a good bit of attention in the technical community.

We hope to build upon this record in the coming term by publishing new, relevant content, and by providing a pleasant experience to the contributor, reviewer, and reader. We will be assisted in this task by a new Editorial Board that represents a mix of continuity and change. The new members of the incoming team constitute about one-third of the Editorial Board. This is a distinguished group of experts: Jörg Henkel and Sri Parameswaran (embedded systems), Yiran Chen (emerging technologies), Deming Chen (FPGAs and reconfigurable systems), Yu (Kevin) Cao, Xin Li, and Haifeng Qian (modeling and simulation), Chris Chu and Youngsoo Shin (physical design), Jordi Cortadella, Marc Riedel, Sanjit Seshia, and Avi Ziv (synthesis and verification), and Anne Gattiker and Xiaoqing Wen (test). Welcome!

I would like to express my sincere appreciation to the outgoing Associate Editors for a job well done: Kia Bazargan, Valeria Bertacco, Naehyuck Chang, Petru Eles, Jiang Hu, Andreas Kuehlmann, Fabrizio Lombardi, Subhasish Mitra, Steve Nowick, David Pan, Massimo Poncino, N. Ranganathan, Miguel Silveira, and Dennis Sylvester.

The past year saw a number of other accomplishments. Administratively, the journal successfully made the transition to the ManuscriptCentral submission system. The smooth transition was facilitated by Sara Dailey, and she deserves unstinted praise and thanks. We published a special section

on ISPD'10 and keynote papers on high-level synthesis for FPGAs, error-tolerance in server-class processors, and resilient architectures, in addition to high-quality regular papers. Our acceptance rate of 39.3% largely reflects the selective prefilters that authors apply as they consider a submission to TCAD; a large number of our submissions are extended versions of work that has been accepted to selective conferences. The two-year impact factor stands at 1.252, and the five-year impact factor at 1.494.

As we move into 2012, I would like to thank all the volunteer reviewers who have donated their time in helping us judge manuscripts, in providing valuable feedback to authors, and in ensuring that the papers that finally appear in the journal are, in many cases, significant improvements over the original submissions. The next few pages list an honor roll of these volunteers. (If your name does not appear on these pages and you would like to review for TCAD, please contact one or more Associate Editors in your areas of interest.)

We continue to look to the community for special content. This issue contains a special section on PAR-CAD: Parallel CAD Algorithms and CAD for Parallel Architectures/Systems. We expect to issue a call for papers on a special section on CAD for 3-D ICs soon, and we have several exciting keynote papers in store.

TCAD is in robust shape today, and we will continue and redouble our efforts to serve our readership in 2012. I look forward to working with the volunteers in our community again this year. If you have an idea that can help us improve in any way, do not hesitate to get in touch!

SACHIN S. SAPATNEKAR, *Editor-in-Chief* Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN 55455 USA (e-mail: sachin@umn.edu)



Sachin Sapatnekar (S'86–M'93–F'03) received the B.Tech. degree from the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India, the M.S. degree from Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, and the Ph.D. degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL.

From 1992 to 1997, he was a faculty member with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Iowa State University, Ames, IA. Since 1997, he has been with the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, where he is currently the Distinguished McKnight University Professor and the Robert and Marjorie Henle Chair with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is an author/editor of eight books and has published widely in the areas of computer-aided design of very large-scale integrated circuits.

Dr. Sapatnekar is a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award, six Conference Best Paper Awards, and the Semiconductor Research Corporation's Technical Excellence Award. He was the General Chair and the Technical Program Chair of the ACM/EDAC/IEEE Design Automation Conference, the ACM International Symposium on Physical Design, and the IEEE/ACM International Workshop

on the Specification and Synthesis of Digital Systems (Tau). He has been an Editorial Board Member of several publications, including this journal, the IEEE DESIGN AND TEST OF COMPUTERS, the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON VERY LARGE-SCALE INTEGRATED SYSTEMS, and the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS II.

Date of current version December 21, 2011. Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/TCAD.2011.2178171